The Disaster Artist

RATING: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

ONE SENTENCE SYNOPSIS: While in an acting class, Tommy Wiseau and Greg Sestero become friends, leading them to chase their biggest dreams and make their own movie.


Although I thought I knew what I was in for when I went to The Disaster Artist, the film gave me a lot more than I was expecting. So, let me explain just why. The Disaster Artist is a comedy, that is for sure, yet the film is also sad on a personal level. At the beginning of the film I found myself laughing at many of the comedic moments and scenes, but as the film went on, things became more real and less comedic. When I say that it is less comedic, I merely mean that the audience has been able to get to know the characters and is now getting the opportunity to care about them.

This is not to say that the audience is privy to see more of Tommy’s life, (SPOILER!) we don’t actually find out anything about his past, where he is from, or where all of his money is from. What we do get to find out about Tommy is that he has a dream that he wants to accomplish, but he is so oblivious on how to achieve this vision. To me, Tommy’s oblivion and ambition can represent many people who want to make their dreams come true, yet they are unable to see the full picture. Tommy is so involved in his idea of making it big that he cannot even realize that the film he is making is terrible. I found this movie to be very sad at moments, but I don’t think the comedic elements are dimmed by those moments.

Moving on from the character of Tommy, the story and the characters of this film are what make it so enjoyable. Other than the story, James Franco’s film does not stand out from a crowd of other movies. If The Disaster Artist had more cinematic style, the point of the story might have been taken away. Also, the film would be entirely different, for better or worse.

Overall, I enjoyed The Disaster Artist much more than I was expecting. It was a fun film! I enjoyed the end credits where identical clips from The Room and The Disaster Artist played side by side. If you enjoy comedies that offer more than just a few laughs, I would highly recommend you to watch The Disaster Artist. 

 

Leave a comment