Q&A: The Big Sick

RATING: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

ONE SENTENCE SYNOPSIS: Kumail, a Chicagoan stand-up comedian, challenges his Pakistani-Muslim parents’ dreams for an arranged marriage by secretly dating a white-American woman, Emily, but after Emily finds out that his parents do not know about her, she dumps him, only to become sick, which forces her parents and Kumail to form a bond.


The Big Sick finally came to our theater! We went to the film the other day, and what a treat it was.


QUESTIONS WITH KEZZY


K: What were your expectations?

B: I was expecting a chick flick and/or comedy. I heard a little about this, that there was a Pakistani character in the film. I was pleasantly surprised that he was the main character.

K: Was the film better or worse than you expected?

B: Immensely better than I thought it was going to be. The film has more heart than I thought it would. I did not realize that this was a true story until the end credits. What a great story! I am glad that Nanjiani and Gordon shared their heartwarming story with the world.

K: What was your overall impression of the film after watching it?

B: I remember thinking, “That was really refreshing.” I wish that there were more rom coms, just movies in general, that explore different cultures and share their unique stories with the world. I also appreciated that the filmmakers did not  tell the audience that this was based on a real story until the end credits. So many films based on true accounts can’t live up to the hype, you know?

K: Do you think that this is a universal film?

B: I don’t think that this is a movie that every culture will enjoy. Some differences between cultures just don’t translate. Though, it is applicable to some countries and experiences. This is like Sleepless in Seattle to me in that it is a romantic tale with heart. The sort of magic that Sleepless in Seattle holds is the same kind of magic I feel with this film. The characters’ clothes will be outdated, but we will still be able to relate to these characters’ desires to be with each other.

K: Did you have a favorite moment or part of the film?

B: Yes. When he and Emily’s parents are having their first meal together in the hospital and Terry (Ray Romano) asks Kumail what he thinks about 9/11, Kumail answers, “It was a tragedy. We lost of nineteen of our best guys. (Pause) That was a joke obviously.” I immediately started laughing.

K: Now, be honest: at what point did you start crying?

B: I don’t think that I teared up during this film. If I did, I don’t remember. There were many scenes that made me sad. If some of them had went on longer, I would have had to grab a tissue.

K: Do you think that the script worked well, and if so, in what ways?

B: The script worked incredibly well. The meaty parts of the film are evenly spread out with the humors parts so that at no point are we very sad or laughing our guts out. Even in the sad scenes, you can expect the humor to come in a little bit. Also, the humor was not dum, forced, or contrived. The script moved past a lot of cliche points that I thought it might trip up on. Their initial relationship goes by quickly, then we get to stuff like her having to go number two but being embarrassed to go in his apartment.

K: Is this a new favorite film? Where does it land on your favorite rom com list?

B: Yes. This might be my favorite rom com, right now.

K: Has watching this film altered your outlook on life in anyway?

B: Yes, most definitely. It gave me insight into a life, lifestyle, much different from my own. I like films like this one that show me cultures that I am not familiar with. It is unique and refreshing.

K: Finally, what would you grade this film?

B: The Big Sick  gets a 10 on a scale of 1 to 10. ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT.

 

One thought on “Q&A: The Big Sick

Leave a comment